The Vicariates

The Diocese of Monterey in California is divided into eight regions called vicariates (or deaneries). Each vicariate consists of several territorial parishes. There are 46 parishes in the Diocese and they are numbered below. Chapels attached to religious communities, monasteries, etc., are not numbered. 

The Vicariate of the Monterey Peninsula

1. San Carlos Cathedral in Monterey

2. Carmel Mission Basilica in Carmel-by-the-Sea

3. Our Lady of Mt Carmel in Carmel Valley

4. Saint Jude in Marina

5. Saint Angela Merici in Pacific Grove

6. Saint Francis Xavier in Seaside

7. Saint Joseph in Spreckels

Ave Maria Senior Living in Monterey

Holy Spirit Chapel in Monterey

Carmelite Monastery of Our Lady and St Thérèse in Carmel

Saint Francis of the Redwoods in Big Sur (Mission Station of Carmel Mission Basilica)

New Camaldoli Hermitage in Big Sur

The Vicariate of the Salinas Area

8. Our Lady of Refuge (Castroville)

9. Madonna del Sasso (Salinas)

10. Christ the King (Salinas)

11. Sacred Heart (Salinas)

12. Saint Mary of the Nativity (Salinas)

The Vicariate of the Salinas Valley

13. Mission San Antonio de Padua (Jolon)

14. Saint Theodore (Gonzales)

15. Holy Trinity (Greenfield)

16. Saint John the Baptist (King City)

17. Our Lady of Solitude (Soledad)

The Vicariate of San Benito County

18. Mission San Juan Bautista (San Juan Bautista)

19. Sacred Heart & Saint Benedict (Hollister)

20. Immaculate Conception (Tres Piños)

Saint Francis Retreat Center (San Juan Bautista)

The Vicariate of Santa Cruz County: Northern Vicariate

21. Resurrection (Aptos)

22. Saint Michael (Boulder Creek)

23. Saint Joseph (Capitola)

24. Saint Vincent de Paul (Davenport)

25. Saint John (Felton)

26. Christ Child (Los Gatos)

27. Holy Cross (Santa Cruz)

28. Our Lady, Star of the Sea (Santa Cruz)

29. San Agustin (Scotts Valley)

The Vicariate of Santa Cruz County: Southern Vicariate

30. Holy Eucharist (Corralitos)

31. Our Lady, Help of Christians (Watsonville)

32. Our Lady of the Assumption (Watsonville)

33. Saint Patrick (Watsonville)

The Vicariate of San Luis Obispo County: Southeast Vicariate

34. Mission San Luis Obispo (San Luis Obispo)

35. Saint Patrick (Arroyo Grande)

36. Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton (Los Osos)

37. Saint Joseph (Nipomo)

38. Saint Paul the Apostle (Pismo Beach)

39. Nativity of Our Lady (San Luis Obispo)

40. Santa Margarita de Cortona (Santa Margarita) 

The Vicariate of San Luis Obispo County: Southwest Vicariate

41. Mission San Miguel (San Miguel)

42. Saint William (Atascadero)

43. Santa Rosa (Cambria)

44. Saint Joseph (Cayucos)

45. Saint Timothy (Morro Bay)

46. Saint Rose of Lima (Paso Robles)